April Sewing Challenge Day 4 and last day for the GIVEAWAY!

Here’s my submission for Day 4!  If you’re just joining me, I’ve set a challenge to list one new item in my Etsy Shop for each weekday in April.

Image

This little number is a corduroy and jersey cowl dress inspired by the movie Frozen.  Last year I discovered Girl Charlee, a wonderful online fabric store that specializes in and carries the most lovely knit fabrics!  I have literally purchased a cupboard full of their bright, cheerful, fun fabrics.  The only problem is, I’m not 100% confident sewing with knits yet, so I haven’t sewn as many garments as I’d like although I can make a mean infinity scarf!  Enter this little dress.  The pattern (a Nina Bonita design) is designed for wovens but I really wanted to incorporate some of my stash of knits and knew this gorgeous tie dye cotton jersey would look killer with my blue corduroy.

Image

The design of this dress is very simple–it pops over the head with no need for closures and is a roomy a line shape.  I made a sleeveless version for my daughter and it’s a go-to pick for her because she can put it on herself in a hurry–never mind it’s often inside out but whatever… 🙂  You can check it out on Kollabora, here.

Image

I added a little pocket to hold treasures and a teal blue bias tape hem for an extra pop of colour.Image

And there you have it, my week is done!  See you next week–have a wonderful weekend! xo, Heather

P.S.  Don’t forget that today is the very LAST day to enter my GIVEAWAY on Facebook!  Check it out here:  http://tinyurl.com/mf2bdl8

 

Leave a Reply

