April Sewing Challenge Day 7. A Mod, Vintage Inspired Dress Just in Time for Mad Men!

Here we are, Day 7 of my April Sewing Challenge.  If you’re just joining me, I have set a goal of listing one new item in my Etsy Shop for each weekday in April.  If my math is correct, I’m a third of the way there, but I tell ya, I’m getting worn out–this is tough!!

Today’s creation is a Military Inspired Shift Dress.  I used the same pattern that I did for the Tartan Dress that I posted yesterday, the Norah by Mouse House Creations.  This time I added short sleeves for a different look.

Image

I may have found a new favourite pattern, here!  I luurrve me a vintage silhouette–there’s nothing cuter to me than a little girl in a short, peter pan collared shift dress with tights!  I have a few similar patterns in my arsenal, many of them are actual vintage paper patterns. I really like this one specifically because it has several sleeve options:  short, long, and sleeveless, as well as three collar options.  Vintage patterns also usually come in only one size, and this beauty includes sizes 12 months to 12 years!  I suspect I’ll be making these for Miss P for years to come!

Image

These are gold, nautical buttons that I’ve been hoarding for a while–nice to see them put to use finally!

Image

It was SOOO nice to take pictures outside today!  I feel like Spring might actually be here to stay–finally!

ImageThe fabric I used is another Robert Kaufman.  It’s a cotton/linen blend, and was really nice to work with.  The dress is partially lined with a vintage floral cotton from my stash.

ImageI find that whenever a new season of Mad Men is near, i pump out a lot of sixties inspired creations.  Looking forward to the premiere on Sunday!! 🙂

Image

Thanks for stopping by!  Until tomorrow…

xo, Heather

Leave a Reply

