April Sewing Challenge Day 14–A Summery Dress on A Winter(?!!) Day

Just so I’m clear, it’s April 18th today, right?  This is getting ridiculous! Image

Ok, mini rant over… It’s time for a little cheerfulness!Image

I waffled a bit as to whether I was going to sew today or not, but as you can see by the weather around here, we weren’t going to be spending much time outside.  Thankfully we did get out for some fresh air before the blizzard hit–we’ve all got some serious cabin fever!  

Image

Anyway, I decided to blow off the layer of dust from my UFO pile–UFO being ‘unfinished objects’ and finish something I started, then forgot about.  I’m embarrassed to tell you how long this little number has been sitting, unfinished, but it’s been a while 😉  

This is the Vintage Annie Dress by Ruby Jean’s Closet on Etsy.  It’s a cute little vintage inspired sun dress and it’s super sweet and cheerful.

Image

The bodice placket features a really neat design element where the lining flips over to the front, creating the bib.  Some elastic in the front also creates a gathered or ruching effect.

Image

The shape is a simple A line silhouette that does up with ties at the shoulder.  Simple to sew, and really easy and comfortable to wear.

Well, that’ll do it for me for the week.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

xo, Heather 

 

Leave a Reply

