April Sewing Challenge Day 21. A Ruffled Bubble Romper for Baby

Hello and welcome to Day 21 of my April Sewing Challenge!  I was really hoping to have two of these babies to show you but as usual, the day got away from me and I was only able to squeak out one.  

This is the ruffled baby romper by Tie Dye Diva (my go-to pattern designer lately).  It’s just the sweetest little vintage inspired pattern you have ever seen.  And just in time for summer!    Image

A knotted, halter style neck and layers of ruffles on a on a bubbly bum–so precious!Image

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a bit of a pokey sewer, so having a serger to do the rolled hem here on the ruffles REALLY cuts down on precious time!

Image

Elastic in the back and around the leg casings give this romper its bubbled bottom.  I really wish I had a little model for today, because just hanging here really doesn’t do this any justice.

Image

This is the view from the front.  I used a vintage inspired floral fabric featuring tiny pink roses, and actual vintage fabric for the lining and ruffles, in a delicious watermelon pink.  

Image

This pattern may seem a bit daunting to a beginner, but it’s actually quite simple to sew.  The only sticky part is ironing/pressing the leg casings around the curve, but if you go slowly and use lots of steam, you’re in good shape.  There’s a high degree of gratification (for me anyway) upon completion of this pattern.  It’s a winner every time!Image

That’s it for today, my second last day of the Challenge.  Hard to believe it’s coming to an end, though I’m pretty exhausted!  For my last challenge entry tomorrow, I’ll be debuting my first wedding dress!  Ha ha… not quite!

Thanks for stopping by!

xo, Heather

Leave a Reply

